Week 40: D Day

It’s August 26.  I’ve been thinking about this date for almost 40 weeks.  I know that few babies actually arrive on their due date, but I’ve still been expecting it to happen right on cue.  So far it’s 5am and nothing.  What’s up, kid?

I’m officially on maternity leave now (as of last Wednesday), which has been AWESOME.  It was really hard to let go early last week, but now that I’m off the clock it’s pretty fantastic.  Just me & the Lumberjack hanging out all day, every day.  Well, he sleeps until around noon whereas I wake up around 9, and I go to bed around 10 and he’s up until 2 or 3, so we each have a few hours to ourselves each day which is also nice.  But there’s been a WHOLE lot of together time, which is making both of us really happy since soon there will be a tiny but loud human demanding all our attention.  At which point I doubt I’ll be able to bat my eyelashes at the Lumberjack and say “I want peppermint ice cream” and then he’s returning from the store 20 minutes later and serving it to me.  Pregnancy?  With the best husband ever?  Pretty awesome.

What is not awesome is my blood pressure.  It’s not dangerously high, but it’s still too high for the birth center.  So, the final decision was made and I’ll be heading to the hospital.  I’ve had a week or so to sit with that, and it’s been over a month since the BP issue first came up, so I think I’m at peace with it.  It still makes me sad, though.  For minor reasons, too – the thought of my kid having Walnut Creek listed on his birth certificate instead of Oakland is pretty much bullshit if you ask me.  But I’ll deal.

I’ve been having contractions all week, which is exciting.  On Tuesday they were happening every 5-6 minutes all day long, which made me think Wednesday or Thursday might be the day…but no.  They’re still super mild – not painful at all, just the typical Braxton-Hicks tightening.  And I hear that some women go through weeks of this without any change.  I’m not dilated at this point, although I my cervix is “soft.”  The things I share on the internet.

Due to the blood pressure issue, no one (doctors & midwives alike) wants me to hit 41 weeks.  So on Thursday, August 30 I have an appointment to be induced.  I DO NOT WANT TO BE INDUCED.  Therefore I will spend the next 4 days doing my best to get this kid moving on his own.  First up?  Acupuncture!  We’ll see if it works.  PLEASE don’t tell me to have sex.  I know it works for some people.  I’ve heard all about it.  I still don’t want anyone other than me or the Lumberjack suggesting that we do it.  It’s just too weird.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Gah! So close! I am so excited for you!

    For the first month or so of C’s life, my husband and I were on the exact same sleep schedule that you guys are on now. Even though I was having to nurse the baby pretty much around the clock, it worked out really well for us. It insured that we were both getting at least a barely-functional amount of rest. You will have such a leg up when the baby arrives since you’re both already on this schedule.

    Reply
  2. how exciting!! I cant wait till the baby comes! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

