End of Week Seven

We’re back from the honeymoon!  And…it was awesome.  A wonderful reminder that I picked the very best husband for me.  Now we are home, I am back to work, and without all the wedding things to distract me, I can actually think about: omg, I’m pregnant.

Update on my uterus:

Over the past few days I have had a panic attack each morning.  Those are usually rare for me, and I have a prescription for Ativan that I can take to manage them as needed.  Ativan will apparently give the baby gills, so I haven’t been taking it, and have instead been suffering through them.  Well, yesterday I realized – nope, not a panic attack.  Just OVERWHELMING HUNGER.  As a happy, healthy, privileged American, I’ve never experienced extreme hunger.  I had no idea what it was like.  Spoiler alert: it sucks.  So now I have to eat pretty much all the time.

Oh, food.  Half the time you revolt me, the other half you make me sing I’m so happy to be eating you.  I haven’t puked at all, but I’ve definitely been feeling queasy and icky most of the time.  No weird cravings, although I want to eat produce all the time.  ALL THE TIME.  I’ve become totally disinterested in ice cream and cake (this is very strange for me) but want to eat sorbet and other fruity things nonstop.  Damn.  Now I want frozen yogurt.

And the tears!  Oh, the tears.  Out of nowhere my whole face smooshes up and I totally fall apart.  For, about 5 minutes.  Then I feel normal again.  So much fun!  Yesterday I needed to eat a fruit/yogurt parfait for breakfast (seriously.  NEEDED), so the Lumberjack very sweetly took me to 4 different places until we found one (Starbucks.  omg THANK YOU) and I immediately felt normal again.  Then we went to a diner so he could eat too, and I burst into tears for being too high maintenance.  LBJ sweetly patted my hand, then opened up the napkin on the table and handed me a pencil, saying “here, draw me a picture of how it feels to be pregnant.”  LBJ, you get me like no one else.  He’s a keeper.

Questions for you, dear readers:

Books!  Which books do I read?!  The internet is giving me way too much information, and I have no idea what is actually useful.

Do I need stuff?  Are there things that I should know about?  Please, tell me your secrets.  I have no pregnant friends (that I know of) and haven’t told people about this yet so I feel like I’m missing out.  Like when I was a preteen and all the other girls were allowed to read Seventeen Magazine so they knew all the makeup secrets.  I want to join your club.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Someone gave us “What to Expect When You’re Expecting,” and my wife reads it, but she really likes “The Pregnancy Countdown” (http://www.amazon.com/Pregnancy-Countdown-Book-Susan-Magee/dp/1594740879/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1326291188&sr=8-1), although there’s some stuff in there that she ignores because she thinks it’s stupid. I bought “The Baby Owner’s Manual” (http://www.amazon.com/Baby-Owners-Manual-Instruction/dp/1931686238/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1326291354&sr=1-1)–it talks about your baby like it’s a computer or a DVD player, so it makes it sound like something cool and useful.

    My wife’s big, major find, though–Belly Bands. She loves them, and can’t think of life without these things now. (http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_1_9?url=search-alias%3Dapparel&field-keywords=belly+band&sprefix=belly+ban%2Cstripbooks%2C168)
    If you haven’t seen these yet, you’re welcome.

    Reply
    • Ha – the manual looks good. I definitely want to view the baby as something cool and useful. Added bonus if the husband does too.

      I’ve heard of the belly bands, but haven’t of anyone who actually used them. Now I have! Excellent.

      Thanks!

      Reply
      • I don’t think my wife has buttoned her pants in weeks, and she loves it. It’s not that she can’t button her pants (I don’t want to get punched in the jaw), but that it’s so much more comfortable right now to leave them unbuttoned. And the belly band makes it so she doesn’t have to. I’m thinking of getting about 5 of them myself.

  2. Haha! I haven’t been reading any of the books. I know, I am terrible. I find that my friends (who know everything about everything, duh…) will fill me in on the stuff they don’t tell you and the medical stuff is so easily accessible on the interweb.

    And the food thing? That’s so much fun, isn’t it?! HUNGER IS SO PAINFUL! I had no idea. The good news is, you get used to it and learn to eat constantly and not be a total pig about it. The bad news is that, today you might be obsessed with produce, but tomorrow you will be disgusted by it and insist on only eating hot dogs. I actually threatened to smother my beloved in chili and cheese the other day. And, well, I was only half-kidding. This has never happened before.

    Reply
    • Yep. Last week I was all “OMG I LOVE SALADS. MORE SALADS! MORE!” so the Lumberjack obliged and bought me a shitload of salad fixings. and…they’re all still sitting there in the fridge, probably rotting away. The other night he said “do you want me to make you a salad?” and I scrunched up my nose and said “ew, no way.” Sorry, sweetheart.

      Reply
  3. A3

     /  January 31, 2012

    Mmm, Happiest Baby on the Block. That’s one I enjoyed. You should also ask Hannah! She reads books!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

